Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NPS instructor OR Nuclear officer (SWO/Sub)

Author Topic: NPS instructor OR Nuclear officer (SWO/Sub)  (Read 12596 times)

firefox172

NPS instructor OR Nuclear officer (SWO/Sub)
« on: May 23, 2005, 08:32 »
Hey everyone. I am an engineering college grad (3.4 GPA) and Im interested in the Navy Nuclear officer program. I spoke to a recruiter and he told me I could qualify either as a Nuclear Instructor at "A" school or as a Nuclear officer on the surface warfare/subs.
I know to some extent the career oppurtunities of the Nuclear trained officer option, but could anyone tell me if there are any advantages/disadvantages to taking the NPS instructor option besides an on shore job but not getting the Bonus.
What are the advancement oppurtunities for an instructor in the navy and the civilian sector after completing my term. And do the NPS instructors and Nuke officers have the same rank and pay grade. Is it possible to switch and make a transition to a nuclear propulsion officer and how easy/difficult would that be.
I am still not sure what an NPS instructors options are after completing his/her teaching assignment.

Offline Roll Tide

• Nearly SRO; Previous RCO / AUO / HP Tech / MM1ss
  • Very Heavy User
  • Those who wait upon God..rise up on eagles' wings
Re: NPS instructor OR Nuclear officer (SWO/Sub)
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2005, 09:25 »
Hey everyone. I am an engineering college grad (3.4 GPA)

I am still not sure what an NPS instructors options are after completing his/her teaching assignment.

In summary (based on what I have read over the years on this site) you have very little nuclear background for a nuclear commercial job after an instructor only billet. It is dependent upon the needs of the Navy whether you can convert to nuclear propulsion officer, but only rarely done.