Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu How many hours of home work are typical for a nuke in school? honeypot

Author Topic: How many hours of home work are typical for a nuke in school?  (Read 13452 times)

nukemaster

wow. let me just start off with thanking everyone that has dedicated their time to giving advise to the new generation of navy nukes (or the ones considering it). THANK YOU!
anyway, i have also decided to enlist as a navy nuke and i've been in the DEP program from almost a year now. i graduated high school in june, and im shippin off to bootcamp nov. 9th. (funny, thats a day after my 18th bday). in school, i was in the JROTC program for four years and i sorta already have the discipline instilled in me as well as the PT. but what im getting a lot of is the training after A school. Im signed up to be an ET (whats the diff between MM's, ET?, and EM's?) and im anxious to struggle though NPS and prototype school. i just got a few questions about them cause it seems that these schools are harder than a college carreer. how many hours of hw are typical for a nuke in school? (both schools-or for that matter, all of them?)
lemme thank you in advance for your answers...
« Last Edit: Oct 30, 2005, 08:30 by Rennhack »

Fermi2

Re: too much good info
« Reply #1 on: Oct 29, 2005, 09:03 »
1: Enjoy the next year, I wouldn't wory about trying to "pre learn" nuke stuff. The Navy has it's way of teaching it.

2: One thing I think you should be aware of, if I recall correctly they'll tell you you can be an ET while you're in DEP, but that won't get decided until boot camp. About the only thing that is really guaranteed is MM.

Mike

nukemaster

« Reply #2 on: Oct 29, 2005, 08:15 »
so what you're telling me is that a position as an ET isn't guaranteed? Then what does an EM do as well as an MM? all i know is that my recruiter reffered MM's as "grease-monkeys."