Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Going Navy Nuke questions  

Author Topic: Going Navy Nuke questions  (Read 5775 times)

dga212spam

Going Navy Nuke questions
« on: Apr 14, 2006, 07:45 »
Wow, what a community of knowledge here!  I graduated from NYU ugrad Stern business program with  degrees in finance & accounting 2years ago. I then spent 2 years working as an analyst on wallstreet and am considering a career change- going nuclear.

I did AP sciences and scored really well back in HS, AP Chem - 5, Calc B - 5, Physics C - 5/4 (Mech/EM). I also got a 1310 on my SAT.  Unfortunately I didn't do any science in college, and I had a low gpa (2.7).  Although, there is a strict curve at Stern.   I really think I made a career mistake by going to ugrad business school (although it was a great program). 

I can see that there is a coming construction boom in nuclear (17 new reactors in application here in the US) after not building ANY for decades.

What is the best way to get into the field?  I would considered going Navy, as that would help me get the most technical experience the most rapidly. 

1)  What are the chances for a guy with my background getting into NUPOC as an officer?
2) If I can't go officer what is the difference in level of training and experience with the Nukes?  Do officers learn more about the technology?  Do they do better after the Navy than enlisted guys?
3)  What the chances I can convince a power company to train me?  Do they need guys with finance degrees in the reactor room? (i doubt it but hey you never know).
4)  What do people earn in this field?  Or more precisely, what kind of career path can a guy like me get on?

Thanks to all in advance, great site!
« Last Edit: Apr 15, 2006, 12:21 by Roll Tide »

Fermi2

Re: Going Nuke questions
« Reply #1 on: Apr 14, 2006, 09:09 »
Why did you post this in two different forums? Were you hoping for 1/2 answer in each?