Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu career success for poor students honeypot

Author Topic: career success for poor students  (Read 8181 times)

bamafan34

career success for poor students
« on: Aug 06, 2006, 01:13 »
Hi, I'm new to this website and I apologize if this is covered by another thread, but did not find one covering this after searching through the site. Well, I'm a student in Power School right now, and to be honest I'm struggling.  I've only got nine weeks to go, and I havn't failed a test yet, but I have a 2.67 GPA and I average about forty-five hours a week studying.  Up till now I havn't minded because I REALLY want to be a nuke and I've been told that once I make it to the fleet nobody will care what my grades are as long as I work hard, show all due respect to superiors and stay out of trouble.  But just recently I had a chat with one of my instructers, who told me that while I may make it to the fleet I can expect to be passed up alot for advancement by my peers and that I will definately not make chief unless I can learn to actually start memorizing the plant design, operation, and procedures. I dont want to sound like a wuss but I'm definately a little frustrated and discouraged right now, and any advice that I can get on how to fix myself would be GREATLY appreciated. Would I be better off as an A-ganger? Honest opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for all comments and compliments on a great site.

Fermi2

Re: career success for poor students
« Reply #1 on: Aug 06, 2006, 06:52 »
Dude, he's feeding you BS. When you get to actually operating this stuff what matters is ,

1: Your willingness to work hard.
2: Willingness to ask questions.
3: Your basic fundamental understanding of the plant and components.
4: Your willingness to advance.

Memorization doesn't play into it, though being able to memorize helps.

Mike

shayne

« Reply #2 on: Aug 06, 2006, 04:41 »