Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Over educated & over ignorant?  

Author Topic: Over educated & over ignorant?  (Read 12864 times)

DipDog3

Over educated & over ignorant?
« on: Jul 22, 2005, 11:54 »
Hey All,

I just finished graduate school with a Master's Degree in Nuke Engr.
I have no industry experience.

I applied for many jobs and recently got a call back for an Auxiliary Operator position.
The job description only requires a BS, so I wanted to know if I was over qualified for this position?

I am having a hard time finding information on what exactly the job duties of an AO are.
1.  What are the job duties?
2.  What are the advancement choices?
3.  Average starting pay?

So if anyone can relieve me of my ignorance, I would appreciate it.
« Last Edit: Jul 29, 2005, 08:29 by Rennhack »

Offline MLew44

• Light User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Re: Am I over educated and over ignorant?
« Reply #1 on: Jul 23, 2005, 05:13 »
I am somebody who doesn't believe somebody can be "overeducated". Here is a true story...

A friend and co-worker of mine came into the nuclear industry with a masters in nuclear engineering. He started the business about 14 years ago as an Aux Operator. Most of the rest of us who worked with him were ex-Navy or had some similar practical experience. This guy, however, did not, but was willing to learn, and of course, was smart enough to do the job and also had good practical sense. He did not flaunt his educational advantage, and was certainly willing to "do his time". Aux Operator (which, as you probably know, is the entry level in nuclear operations) also pays very well, so this guy never felt like he was wasting his time. After a few years, he moved up and got his SRO license. Now he is a Shift Manager, and is poised to move up through company management. This guy is probably going right to the top; there is no limit, and he's only in his mid-thirties now.