Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Suggestions for a first year college student
honeypot

Author Topic: Suggestions for a first year college student  (Read 55331 times)

MLD Woody

Suggestions for a first year college student
« on: Oct 24, 2010, 01:18 »
    First of all I am new to these forums and I thought I would introduce my self. My name is Mitchell and I am a first year engineering student at the University of Michigan. Now I've always been intrested in Nuclear Engineering. My dad really got my started and it just seems a lot more interesting than a lot of other forms of engineering. Now I am not 100% sold on it and am looking to learn more about it. The thing is I've got a lot of credit coming in from High School already so I basically need to "declare" by the end of the year, or at least decide on a course path to take. My only concerns is there is so much out there and I really don't want to take a class that ends up being a waste of my time, because I plan on graduating early. So I have a few basic questions.

From reports I've been reading and what I would just think is common sense I would think the Nuclear Power industry should be reemerging pretty soon. I'm hoping this will increase the demand for nuclear engineers. What are some jobs a nuclear engineer could get in the power production industry. I don't really want to be behind a desk all day, I'd like some more hands on stuff if possible.

Also is this a career field where a Masters is pretty much needed for entry, or would a B.S.E. suffice? I am looking right now at getting a B.S.E. in Nuclear Engineering and a minor in Electrical Engineering and a minor in Mathematics, because a lot of courses overlap.

MLD Woody

Re: Suggestions for a first year college student
« Reply #1 on: Oct 24, 2010, 01:19 »