Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Foreign degree
honeypot

Author Topic: Foreign degree  (Read 5425 times)

lunar

Foreign degree
« on: Jul 18, 2011, 06:14 »
Hi guys I'm new.  I was wondering if there is a time limit of being out of the country after which I can't enlist? Also I'm studying my physics degree in the UK, I know it's not exactly China but still is this a problem?

Thanks for any help/advice

Offline Starkist

• Very Heavy User
Re: Foreign degree
« Reply #1 on: Jul 18, 2011, 07:16 »
are you an american citizen??

stefanc2011

« Reply #2 on: Jul 18, 2011, 09:20 »
I think he is, cause he said he was just out of the country, but I don't know his situation.

If he's not, according to this then he might be able to enlist but isn't eligible for any job requiring a security clearance.  Unless there's a waiver for that.

http://www.navycs.com/blogs/2011/02/02/navy-citizenship-requirements

stefanc2011

« Reply #3 on: Jul 18, 2011, 10:06 »
What difference does it make if the person is an American citizen or not?  Several non-citizens enlist.
Enlisting is possible, but you aren't eligible for a job that requires a security clearance.

stefanc2011

« Reply #4 on: Jul 18, 2011, 10:34 »
I assumed since this was posted in the navy section of 'nukeworker' that this was about enlisting as a nuke.

Offline Starkist

• Very Heavy User
« Reply #5 on: Jul 19, 2011, 01:25 »
The question was about enlisting.  No mention of a security clearance until you brought it up.

Last time I checked, nukes required security clearances. We had kids of foreign nationals in my power school class (one from china, one from south korea, one from puerto ricol). I asked because I was curious if he was an american citizen. american citizens can always enlist unless they are disqualified through some other means, medical or other wise.