Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Hello Nukeworker!

Author Topic: Hello Nukeworker!  (Read 8108 times)

Offline MPetrosino

• Very Lite User
Hello Nukeworker!
« on: Sep 22, 2012, 02:17 »
Goodmorning everyone,

I wanted to introduce myself and maybe gather some information regarding Navy Nukes and civilian life after, so here it goes. My name is Mike (Michael, Mike, M, just NOT Mikey!) I just turned 24 and have a 5 year old in kindergarten (yes i know.... started a little early). Unfortunately I, like many others, are having trouble finding and keeping work. Ive been jumping from business to business for the past 4 years because each company i work for ends up shutting down. So to make a long story short, I took a little visit to the Navy recruiter. Although the navy wasnt my first choice (or second lol) I have come to the conclusion that its the right choice for me.

Education, OJT, Traveling, new people, a career after the navy, education after the navy.... all around, a change in life. Im not worried about the pay or a bonus. It would be nice but money is not the main reason why im joining. Im halfway finished with college (a child makes it difficult) and cannot finish with the amount of money i make now. Ive grown to learn that college is a necessity but is also a luxury. The navy will let me finish college after i do my time and give me education for a new job/career when i get out which is worth more than the money in my eyes.

Where im at: So far, ive only taken the pre test, and turned in some of the paperwork. I have to sign over sole custody of my daughter to her mother (were seperated) apparently the navy doesnt want any baggage. So while i wait for the court stuff (another 2-3 months) im trying to prepare myself for meps. Not too excited about a finger in the who-ha!

The questions that i have are, What is a typical day like? EX: 0700 wake up, 0900 breakfast... so on. Im trying to see if there is ANY time for online education.