Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NR Eng Interview as a Chemical Engineer
honeypot

Author Topic: NR Eng Interview as a Chemical Engineer  (Read 3190 times)

Offline Tzel

• Very Lite User
NR Eng Interview as a Chemical Engineer
« on: Mar 16, 2012, 03:50 »
As the title states, I am going for my interview for NR Engineer and my background is a BSE in chemical engineering from the University of Pennsylvania.  I graduated with a 3.57/4.00 overall (3.75/4.00 in major - 13 courses).  I did a search, but the relevant posts were for Surface/Subs and from 1+ years ago.

Does anyone have experience with being either the interviewee or interviewer for NR Engineer with a chemical engineering background?  What subject areas aside from the basic physics and calculus would you consider most likely to come up for someone with my background?  My phone interview questions were mostly simple and short:
1) derive the volume of a cone with calc
2) integrate something by parts
3) find the rate of change of the radius of a shrinking sphere
4) simple fluids problem with water coming out of the bottom of a tank
5) simple circuit with only a battery and resistors (series and parallel)
6) simple physics problem with a block sliding on a surface with friction

Nothing from any of my chemE courses or higher level math courses that I took.

I was not allowed a calculator for the phone interview portion - will calculators be provided on the actual interview or not?  If not, this definitely restricts the complexity of the questions asked, especially in areas like heat transfer where the formulas for finding things like heat transfer coefficients are empirically derived and involve lots of fractional exponents, but I was surprised that simple ones were not asked initially.